Green Beans with Bacon & Walnuts

The Ingredients:

8 oz. bag of French Green/String Beans, fresh (there was 8.9 oz in my bag)

4 sliced Bacon, cut into 1/2″ pieces

1 oz. chopped Walnuts

What to Do:

Bring 1 c. water to boil in a med pot add pinch of salt.

Cut beans into thirds and add to boiling water, cover and cook 6 minutes, drain well.

Fry bacon until crisp over med to med-high heat, stir in drained beans and walnuts and toss well to coat.

Makes 3 servings

Sodium: 297mg     Fat: 22.01g     Fiber: 3.5g     Net Carbs: 4.02g          VeggieNetCarbs: 3.13g     Protein: 7.03g     Calories: 248

Ratios:  Carbohydrate: 12%     Fat: 80%     Protein: 8%

6 thoughts on “Green Beans with Bacon & Walnuts

  1. This was really good. My kids liked it too. I used crumbled pre-cooked bacon (hormel, lower salt) and a bit of butter just to save some time. We will have it again! Thank you for this site. I can’t wait to try the chili…. it’s in the pot cooking right now!

    Like

  2. So the walnuts are raw? I may have to try this, it sounds close to the green beans & salt pork that I make in the pressure cooker that I love.

    Like

  3. Looks good Cori-especially since the green beans are growing like crazy in the garden. PS I love that you include the veggie carb count in your recipes-saves me the ciphering!

    Like

    1. I even add those to my recipe titles in my cook book on fatsecret so I all I have to do is add that up, makes it so easy! I hope you enjoy this recipe, it a fav of mine.

      Like

Leave a Reply

