Spam & Zucchini

Ok all you food PURISTS out there, don’t hate on the Spam

The Ingredients:

4 medium Zucchini Squash (21.4 oz)

4 Slices Bacon, cut into 1/2″ pieces

1 tsp. Bacon Grease

1 can Spam Lite, cubed

What to Do:

Fry bacon in a large skillet until crisp, stirring often, remove bacon with slotted spoon and setting aside for later.

Fry cubed Spam until browned and crispy over medium-high heat in bacon grease stirring occasionally.

While Spam is frying, cut ends of zucchini, slice in half lengthwise, then slice in half lengthwise again, and cut into 1 inch chunks.

Add zucchini to pan with Spam, saute stirring occasionally so zucchini can get some color on it, for about 5 minutes, add reserved bacon to pan and combine well.

Makes 4 servings

Sodium: 1105mg     Fat: 25.15g     Fiber: 1.7g     Net Carbs: 5.05g          VeggieNetCarbs: 3.4g      Protein: 18.38g     Calories: 319

Ratios:  Carbohydrates: 8%      Fat: 71%      Protein: 21%

Gotta say, my daughter LOVES Spam, so I had to make something with veggies that she digs, and this worked, not to mention, I have a weakness for Spam myself. High in sodium, but so good.

3 thoughts on “Spam & Zucchini

  1. this is funny, we were shopping and looking at Spam last week. Didn’t get any as I couldn’t think what I would do with it – now I know. I will save this to the summer cookbook when I have so many zucchinis I am in danger of being taken over. Thanks.

    Like

  2. I have a weakness for Spam myself! I can go months without any and then I seem to crave it for a couple days straight. Never thought to mix it with veggies though. Thanks for this recipe! It might be a way to get some veggies in my dad….

    Like

    1. I love to see another SPAM fan! LOL! Zucchini has that wonderful softer texture when sauteed like the soft Spam texture, so it mixes really well together, I hope dad likes it too! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

