Vegetable & Shrimp Stirfry

The Ingredients:

1-1/4 lbs. Large Shrimp, peeled & deveined (I used 18.7 oz.)

8 oz. Asparagus, cut into 2″ pieces

1 Orange Bell Pepper, chopped into 1″ pieces (5.7 oz)

1 Green Bell Pepper, chopped into 1″ pieces (5.9 oz)

8 oz. Mushrooms, stems cut off and halved

2 Zucchini squashes, halved and sliced (13.4 oz)

1/2 oz. Green onions/Scallions, chopped

5 oz. Sweet Onions, chopped into 1″ pieces

1/2 head of Cabbage slice thinly (13.9 oz)

4 cloves Garlic, smashed and minced

1 tsp. Gourmet Garden Ginger Paste (found in the produce aisle)

3 Tbsp. Soy Sauce

1 Tbsp. Corn Starch

2 packets of Truvia

1/3 c. Water

3 Tbsp. Canola Oil

1/4 – 1/2 tsp. Crushed Red Pepper Flakes, depending on what spice level you like

What to Do:

Combine water, soy sauce, Truvia and corn starch in a bowl and set aside.

Heat 2 Tbsp oil in a large Wok over Medium to Medium-high heat, Add all veggies except cabbage and ginger paste to hot Wok and stir-fry for 4 minutes, add cabbage and 4 Tbsp of soy mixture to veggies in the Wok and stir-fry for another 4 minutes. Remove from the Wok into another dish and cover.

Add last 1 Tbsp of oil to the Wok on stove, add Shrimp, ginger paste, red pepper flakes and remaining soy mixture. Stir fry Shrimp until cooked through, about 3-5 minutes.

Makes 8 servings

Sodium: 455mg     Fat: 6.77g     Fiber: 3.6g     Net Carbs: 8.68g          VeggieNet Carbs: 6.8g     Protein: 17.3g     Calories: 172

Ratios: Carb: 29%     Fat: 35%     Protein: 36%

My good friend Sandra asked me to remake her non-Atkins friendly recipe of this dish. I added more veggies and I like it a lot, I hope she, as well as all of you, enjoy it too.

6 thoughts on “Vegetable & Shrimp Stirfry

  1. 🙂 Girl, this sounds real good. Cornstarch, emphasis on “corn”, has 7 carbs per tbsp., so I’d have to use xanthan gum to thicken instead. If you haven’t used xanthan in Chinese food yet, I can tell you I’ve had real good luck using it in stir fry dishes dishes. And as always, “A little dab’ll do ya.” (oh, I forgot, you’re probably too young to appreciate the reference to that old TV commercial for Brylcream for men’s hair). There I go I’m dating myself again. 🙂

    Like

    1. Hahaha Peggy! I thought about using Xanthum Gum, the original recipe calls for 2 Tbsp of cornstarch, so i cut it in half this time, I am still gonna play with this one a bit before I am fully satisfied. I do remember that commercial! LOL! 🙂

      Like

  2. I have made this recipe more time than I can remember now!
    I remember asking Cori to find a low carb way of making the original recipe. Corn starch or no cornstarch, It is my absolute favorite!

    My family adores it and asks all the time for me to make it for them. Hubby tried to get me to make some and bring it to work for him and the guys. I told him NOT a chance as I know I would have to make it all the time for them! I have a hard enough time keeping up with my families request for it.

    I did try it with chicken and I have used beef too. All were a great meal!

    Thanks again Cori!
    Your the best!
    Sandra

    Like

  3. I have made this recipe more times than I can remember now!
    I remember asking Cori to find a low carb way of making the original recipe. Corn starch or no cornstarch, It is my absolute favorite!

    My family adores it and asks all the time for me to make it for them. Hubby tried to get me to make some and bring it to work for him and the guys. I told him NOT a chance as I know I would have to make it all the time for them! I have a hard enough time keeping up with my families request for it.

    I did try it with chicken and I have used beef too. All were a great meal!

    Thanks again Cori!
    Your the best!
    Sandra

    Like

Leave a Reply

