Portobello Mushroom Pizza

I am not including any nutritional info for this because there are so many different options for topping a pizza, not to mention, the different sizes of the mushrooms available.

What I did for this picture is cut off the stem of the portobello mushroom, scrape the dark gills out of the inside.

Top with a little pizza sauce.

I added crumbled sausage right on top of the sauce, then covered with mozzarella cheese and topped with pepperoni.

Bake at 400 degree oven for anywhere from 15-25 minutes depending on the size of the mushroom and the amount of toppings.

I also like to broil the top for just a minute to get that slightly browned cheese.

10 thoughts on “Portobello Mushroom Pizza

  1. I have made these before and varied the toppings. I am going to post on my blog about this and put a link to your post too!
    Thank you so much for posting this. I will also point my friends that are into the low carb foods your way!

    Like

  2. I lived one these the first few weeks, I like to put a little of butter with minced garlic instead of the pizza sauce. My DH would make sure to find me the biggest ports he could. Gotta love the DH’s.

    Like

  3. You can also use the mushroom as the base for a burger type of thing with a pattie, mayo, tomato, lettuce, etc on top….saw that on Rachel Ray about a year ago…

    Like

Leave a comment